Trump faces backlash over 2005 lewd comments about women

By Bonnie K. Goodman

HENDERSON, NV - OCTOBER 05: Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump speaks during a campaign rally at the Henderson Pavilion on October 5, 2016 in Henderson, Nevada. Trump is campaigning ahead of the second presidential debate coming up on October 9 with Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)
HENDERSON, NV – OCTOBER 05: Republican presidential nominee Donald Trump speaks during a campaign rally at the Henderson Pavilion on October 5, 2016 in Henderson, Nevada. Trump is campaigning ahead of the second presidential debate coming up on October 9 with Democratic presidential nominee Hillary Clinton. (Photo by Ethan Miller/Getty Images)

The Washington Post uncovered an open mic recording of Republican nominee Donald Trump from 2005 saying he can grop women publishing the report on Friday, Oct. 7, 2016. In the audio tape recorded in 2005, Trump is on a bus speaking to then Access Hollywood reporter Billy Bush bragging that his celebrity status gives him unfettered access to women allowing him to grop and kiss them without their permission. Trump also bragged about trying to bed a married woman unsuccessfully, who has later been identified as former Access Hollywood host Nancy O’Dell. Trump is now facing a backlash even after he apologized with Republican lawmakers dropping support and calling on him to quit the race.

In the audio recorded as Trump was set to appear in a cameo on soap opera Days of Our Lives, Trump boasted, “You know I’m automatically attracted to beautiful — I just start kissing them. It’s like a magnet. Just kiss. I don’t even wait. And when you’re a star they let you do it… You can do anything.” Bush then questioned, “Whatever you want,” Trump continues saying, “Grab them by the p—-, You can do anything.” Trump made the comments referring to Days actress Arianne Zucker, saying, he will “use some Tic Tacs just in case I start kissing her.”

Earlier in the conversation, Trump is heard boasting about trying to bed a married woman. Trump said, “I did try and f— her. She was married. And I moved on her very heavily. In fact, I took her out furniture shopping. She wanted to get some furniture. I said, ‘I’ll show you where they have some nice furniture.'” Trump explained his failure in vulgar terms, “I moved on her like a b—-, but I couldn’t get there. And she was married. Then all of a sudden I see her, she’s now got the big phony tits and everything. She’s totally changed her look.”

Immediately, Republicans expressed their opposition and disgust to Trump’s remarks calling on him to apologize. At first, Trump issued a statement with a half-hearted apology and dismissed his remarks. Trump said, “This was locker room banter, a private conversation that took place many years ago. Bill Clinton has said far worse to me on the golf course – not even close. I apologize if anyone was offended.”

Despite her husband’s antic’s Clinton went to attack Trump, tweeting, “This is horrific. We cannot allow this man to become president,” with a link to the Washington Post’s story. While Democratic VP candidate Tim Kaine at a rally in Las Vegas Nevada said it “makes me sick to my stomach.” Continuing Kaine commented, “I don’t like to say the words that he’s used in the past when he calls women, ‘pigs, dogs, and slobs’ … but this is behavior that’s just outrageous and so that there would be a news story that would have more statements like this of this kind, I mean, gosh, I’m sad to say that I’m not surprised. I should be surprised and shocked. I’m sad to say that I’m not.”

Later Friday evening, Trump apologized again in a video posted on his Facebook page, albeit defiantly instead choosing to attack his opponent’s husband former President Bill Clinton’s many sex scandals. Trump expressed in his apology, “I never said I’m a perfect person nor pretended to be someone I’m not. I’ve said and done things I regret and the words released today on this more than decade-old video are one of them. These words don’t reflect who I am. I said it; I was wrong and I apologize.” Trump said the presidential campaign had changed him and he vowed to “be a better man.”

Then the GOP nominee decided to go on the attack, contrasting his words to Bill Clinton’s actions as president. Trump continued, “I’ve said some foolish things, but there is a big difference between the words and actions of other people Bill Clinton has actually abused women, and Hillary has bullied, attacked, intimidated and shamed his victims.”

Concluding, Trump asked voters to focus on the important issues of the campaign, saying, “Let’s be honest; we are living in the real world. This is nothing more than a distraction from the important issues we are facing today. We are losing our jobs, we are less safe than we were eight years ago, and Washington is totally broken.” Then the GOP nominee vowed to be at the second presidential debate on Sunday, “We will discuss this more in the coming days. See you at the debate on Sunday.”

Leave a Reply

